What Are The Chakras?

Photo of author
Written by
Last Updated:

Chakras Definition

The word chakra originates from the Sanskrit word cakra, which essentially translates to circle or wheel.

The chakras are a system of seven energetic points within the body that act as filters for the different ways you express your soul’s energy. Energetically, chakras appear to spin and operate as a funnel of energy when functioning correctly.

Chakras Deep Dive

The seven chakras correlate to different aspects of our being. When these energy centers are out of balance, we can experience trouble within these areas of our lives.

Learning how to balance chakra energy through meditation, visualization, energy work, crystal healing, and yoga can all help restore balance to these energy points. 

a graphic design figure of someone meditating on a lotus in space with the seven chakras highlighted on their body

The seven most commonly known chakras, their color associations, and attributes are: 

  • Crown chakra (Sahasrara), Violet – Knowledge, Spirituality, Wholeness
  • Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna), Indigo – Imagination, Intuition, Wisdom
  • Throat Chakra (Vishuddha), Blue – Communication, Truth, Expression
  • Heart Chakra (Anahata), Green – Love, Abundance, Compassion
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura), Yellow – Esteem, Power, Strength
  • Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana), Orange – Sensuality, Creativity, Passion
  • Root Chakra (Muladhara), Red – Safety, Foundation, Survival

The origin of the idea of chakras stems back to Ancient Hindu teachings. These teachings described our anatomy from a spiritual standpoint rather than a physical one. The chakras were said to be the primary energy centers throughout the body.

The number correlated to the number of chakras within a single body has changed throughout early history. Still, it’s widely accepted that each of us contain seven major chakra points in modern times.

In yoga, dedicated practices are geared towards balancing chakra energy and bringing harmony to your mind, body, and spirit. Chakra healing has become a vital component of spiritual wellness throughout the new age and yoga communities. 

images of the seven chakra symbols

Chakras In Your Life

Life is a dance of energetic exchanges, and sometimes these exchanges cause our energy to become unbalanced. Because of this, it’s essential to incorporate energy balancing within your daily life. One of the best ways to achieve this is through chakra balancing or healing.

As previously stated, there are many ways to work with the chakras, such as yoga, meditation, crystals, and energy healing. Find a practice that resonates with you and perform it daily. 

Reflect on the different qualities that each chakra governs to identify which of your chakras may be out of balance. Truthfully, if you have not practiced energy healing before, all of your chakras may benefit from being balanced. 

In meditation, you can visualize your chakra energy wheels within their associated positions in the body. See them in their colorful fullness and imagine bringing them into balance. See them begin to spin clockwise at a highly energetic speed. Shift through each chakra until you’ve brought balance to each of them. 

When focusing on a specific energy point such as the throat chakra, you can meditate on it directly. You can also carry a particular crystal assigned to this chakra, or practice specific yoga poses to help bring balance to it. 

Chakra healing is a powerful way to help establish a flow within your energy field and assist in the overall union between your mind, body, emotions, and soul. 

yogajala linebreak

To go deep and expand your yogic knowledge, access our free Yoga Terms Encyclopedia, where we host a profound wealth of ancient and timeless yogic wisdom in an accessible modern format.

yogajala linebreak

More On Chakras:

Photo of author
John McDonald is a writer and creative. He enjoys spending his time out in nature, staying active, learning about the unknown, and laughing.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.